The latest Hospital Safety Scores were released on Oct. 29 by The Leapfrog Group ® (Leapfrog). HCA North Texas hospitals, including Medical Center of McKinney, were awarded the following grades:

  • Medical Center of McKinney – A
  • Medical Center Lewisville – A
  • Denton Regional Medical Center – A
  • Medical City Dallas Hospital – A
  • Medical Center of Plano – A
  • North Hills Hospital (North Richland Hills) – B
  • Las Colinas Medical Center – B
  • Plaza Medical Center (Fort Worth) – B
  • Medical Center Arlington – B

The Hospital Safety Score is compiled under the guidance of analysts identified by Leapfrog, an independent industry watchdog, as the nation’s leading experts on patient safety and is administered by Leapfrog. The first and only hospital safety rating to be peer-reviewed in the Journal of Patient Safety, the Score is free to the public and, according to Leapfrog, designed to give consumers information they can use to inform themselves and their families when facing a hospital stay.

“Our hospitals are proud to provide exceptional quality care in a safe and caring environment,” says Joyce Carver, HCA North Texas’ vice president of clinical programs, “These scores reflect our relentless commitment to excellence always and the dedication of our doctors, nurses, and clinical teams.”

“We commend the ‘A’ hospitals, including HCA North Texas, for helping us to raise the standards of health care nationwide, and demonstrating that they’ve made the well-being of patients a top priority,” said Leah Binder, president and CEO of the Leapfrog Group, which administers the Hospital Safety Score.

Developed under the guidance of Leapfrog’s Blue Ribbon Expert Panel, the Hospital Safety Score uses 28 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to produce a single “A,” “B,” “C,” “D,” or “F” score representing a hospital’s overall capacity to keep patients safe from preventable harm. More than 2,500 U.S. general hospitals were assigned scores in fall 2014, with about 31-percent receiving an “A” grade. The Hospital Safety Score is fully transparent, and its website offers a full analysis of the data and methodology used in determining grades. All scores can be viewed at

When making health care decisions, patients should use all available tools at their disposal such as talking with friends and family and consulting with doctors, nurses and other health care providers.  The latest Leapfrog rating system is just one tool of many patients can use when making health care decisions such as choosing a hospital.


About Medical Center of McKinney

Medical Center of McKinney (MCM) is a growing 260-bed hospital with a 90-year history of serving the health care needs of McKinney and the surrounding communities. Over the past several years, MCM has strengthened its medical foundations by adding two new surgical robots, a newly remodeled labor and delivery suites, a Level III Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU), an advanced biplane catherization (cath) lab to treat heart rhythm disorders, and opening the McKinney Senior Health Clinic, which is designed specifically for individuals over the age of 65 on Medicare. Medical Center of McKinney is part of the HCA North Texas Division of hospitals. Medical Center of McKinney will be expanding its services to the community with the addition of a new off-campus emergency department at 380 & Custer in 2015. For more information visit

About HCA North Texas

HCA North Texas is one of the region’s largest most comprehensive health care providers and includes 11 hospitals, more than 50 ambulatory sites, more than 5500 active physicians and 12,000 employees in Dallas-Fort Worth. HCA North Texas is distinguished as the first regional brain attack network in the United States, with four comprehensive stroke centers, and six primary stroke centers geographically positioned to provide rapid access to high quality stroke care across the region. Four HCA North Texas hospitals hold the prestigious Magnet Recognized® status from the American Nurses Association — a designation of quality achieved only by the top 5 percent of hospitals nationwide. Seven HCA North Texas hospitals are on The Joint Commission’s 2013 list of Top Performers on Key Quality Measures™. For more information visit:

About The Leapfrog Group

The Hospital Safety Score ( is an initiative of The Leapfrog Group (, a national nonprofit organization using the collective leverage of large purchasers of health care to initiate breakthrough improvements in the safety, quality and affordability of health care for Americans. The flagship Leapfrog Hospital Survey allows purchasers to structure their contracts and purchasing to reward the highest performing hospitals. The Leapfrog Group was founded in November 2000 with support from the Business Roundtable and national funders and is now independently operated with support from its purchaser and other members.