Six Lone Star Conference basketball teams, with three on the men’s side and three on the women’s, were selected to continue their seasons at the South Central Regional basketball tournament the NCAA announced.

The men’s regional will be hosted by top seed Metro State on March 16, 17 and 19.  The bracket contains No. 4 Midwestern State, No. 7 Cameron and No. 8 Tarleton State, who won the men’s LSC Tournament title and automatic qualification Saturday night.

The Mustangs play No. 5 Newman, while the Aggies face No. 2 St. Mary’s and the Texans meet No. 1 Metro State.

The winners of each regional gain a berth in the Elite Eight which is set for Freedom Hall in Louisville, Ky. on March 28 and 30. The winners of the semifinal games advance to the title game which will be played at Phillips Arena in Atlanta on April 7.

Colorado Mesa will host the women’s regional March 15, 16 and 18. The field includes No. 2 Midwestern State, who earned the league’s automatic qualification after winning the LSC Tournament title Saturday, No. 5 Abilene Christian, and No. 7 Tarleton State.

The draw pits MSU versus Tarleton State in the first round, marking the fourth time the teams have played including a semifinal contest at the LSC Championship. The Mustangs have won all three meetings.

ACU faces Texas-Permian Basin. The Falcons edged the Wildcats 74-71 in early November.

The regional champion advances to the Women’s Elite Eight March 26-29 at Bill Greehey Arena in San Antonio.


Women’s South Central Regional

1. Colorado Mesa

2. Midwestern State

3. St. Mary's

4. Texas-Permian Basin

5. Abilene Christian

5. Metro State (Colo.)

7. Tarleton State

8. Fort Lewis (Ark.)

Men’s South Central Regional

1. Metro State (Colo.)

2. St. Mary's

3. Fort Lewis (Ark.)

4. Midwestern State

5. Newman (Kan.)

6. Adams State (Colo.)

7. Cameron (Okla.)

8. Tarleton State