The MetroPCS® Dallas Marathon™ hosts the third annual Cooper Complete Elite High School Relay Challenge during the Dallas Marathon on Sunday, Dec. 9. The challenge pits a relay team of 16 of the Dallas area’s top high school distance runners against the world-class professional marathoners favored in the 26.2-mile race.

Katie Ruhala, a senior at Lovejoy High School, was selected to the 2012 Elite High School Relay Team. Ruhala is a returning team member from 2011 and has won state championships in cross-country and in the 1600-meter and 3200-meter. She plans to pursue a career in health and medicine.

For the relay team, only bragging rights are on the line. Male team members run two-mile legs and female team members complete one-mile segments. For more information tune into WFAA, Channel 8 at 8 a.m. on Sunday, Dec. 9 or visit

Here is the complete list of Dallas-area high school runners:

  • Matt Brown, junior at St. Mark’s High School in Dallas
  • Lili Clark, sophomore at Episcopal School of Dallas
  • Ryan Duffy, senior at Greenhill School in Addison
  • Zach Hamstra, junior at Flower Mound High School
  • Hunter Hawkins, junior at Blooming Grove High School
  • Lexie Hood, senior at The Hockaday School in Dallas
  • Zach Kirkland, junior at Northwest High School in Justin
  • Zach Polley, junior at Ovilla Christian School in Red Oak
  • Laura Rathjen, junior at Highland Park High School
  • Adam Rathjen, freshman at Highland Park High School
  • Natalie Rathjen, junior at Highland Park High School
  • Katie Ruhala, senior at Lovejoy High School in Lucas
  • Cameron Villareal, senior at James Martin High School in Arlington
  • Reese Walters, freshman at Shelton School in Dallas
  • Wesley Ward, junior at Flower Mound High School
  • Erin Wrozek, junior at Bishop Lynch High School in Dallas