SPRINGFIELD, MO. (June 28, 2016) - Ryan Cordell stole the show at the 2016 Texas League All-Star Game, taking home MVP honors as part of the South Division’s 8-5 win over the North Division Tuesday night at Hammons Field.
Cordell finished 3-for-5 Tuesday night with a three-run homer and two singles. Cordell, the league leader in RBI (52), led all players with four RBI. He is the first RoughRiders player to win All-Star Game MVP honors since Steven Murphy did it in 2008 in a game also played at Hammons Field.
Guzman went 1-for-4 with a single and a walk. He also served as Frisco’s representative in the home run derby, hitting 10 home runs in the first round. Guzman finished tied for third with Midland’s Matt Chapman in the first round but lost in a 60-second swing-off for a chance to advance to the next round.
Reserves Isiah Kiner-Falefa and Preston Beck entered the game in the sixth inning. Kiner-Falefa went 1-for-3 with an RBI single, and Beck was 0-for-2.
On the mound, Victor Payano and Connor Sadzeck worked in the second and third innings, respectively. Payano worked a perfect inning, inducing three flyouts in his lone inning of work. Sadzeck allowed two hits and a run on a sacrifice fly, striking out two without issuing a walk.
The Riders return to action Thursday in North Little Rock, Arkansas with a three-game series against the Arkansas Travelers. First pitch Thursday is at 7:10 p.m. Fans can listen to the action live on the Frisco RoughRiders Radio Network, the TuneIn Radio App, and the MiLB First Pitch App. Dr Pepper Pregame Show coverage begins at 6:35 p.m.
The Riders return home to begin a six-game homestand starting Wednesday, July 6 against the Arkansas Travelers and the Northwest Arkansas Naturals. The homestand includes aMichael Gruber bobblehead giveaway on July 7, Salute to 8-bit and Arcades Night on July 8, and Princess Night on July 9. Tickets for the upcoming homestand and other remaining games this season are available now online at RidersBaseball.com, via email at info@ridersbaseball.com, over the phone at (972) 731-9200, or in-person at the RoughRiders box office.

About the Frisco RoughRiders

The Frisco RoughRiders are the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers and play their games at beautiful Dr Pepper Ballpark in Frisco, Texas. The team was founded in 2003 and has finished first among all Double-A franchises in attendance in each of the last 11 seasons (2005-2015). In August 2014, the RoughRiders were purchased by an ownership group led by Chuck Greenberg and Scott Sonju. The new ownership group, together with the city of Frisco, has spearheaded numerous major franchise improvements over the past two seasons, investing over $7 million in wide array of facility upgrades and improvements, including the new state-of-the-art HD video board, sound system, Bull Moose Saloon, InTouch Grille, Riders Outpost Team Store, and the newest and biggest creation, the 174-foot Choctaw Lazy River. The improvements made prior to the 2015 season earned the Riders and the City of Frisco “Best Ballpark Renovation” of 2015 by Ballpark Digest. More than 130 former RoughRiders players have gone on to play Major League Baseball, including All-Stars Chris Davis, Elvis Andrus, Adrian Gonzalez, Ian Kinsler, Nelson Cruz, and C.J. Wilson as well as current Rangers stars Derek Holland, Rougned Odor, and Mitch Moreland. For more information on the Frisco RoughRiders and Dr Pepper Ballpark, please visit RidersBaseball.com or contact Nathan Barnett at (972) 334-1976 or via e-mail at Nathan@RidersBaseball.com.