The Central Hockey League’s (CHL) Ray Miron Presidents’ Cup Finals concluded on Saturday night at the Allen Event Center just one day shy of the same result from a year ago, a championship for the Allen Americans. Last year on May 11, the Americans won their first Presidents’ Cup and on May 10, 2014, the Americans become just the third team to repeat as CHL Champions thanks to a four games to one series win over the Denver Cutthroats.

2014 Ray Miron Presidents’ Cup Finals (best-of-7)
Denver Cutthroats (2) vs. Allen Americans (3)
Game 1 – CUTTHROATS 5, Americans 4
Game 2 – Americans 5, CUTTHROATS 4 (2 OT)
Game 3 – AMERICANS 3, Cutthroats 1
Game 4 – AMERICANS 4, Cutthroats 3 (OT)
Game 5 – AMERICANS 5, Cutthroats 2

The Americans win their second championship in their third Finals appearance (2013 won against Wichita and 2010 lost to Rapid City), while the Cutthroats fall in their first ever Finals appearance.

The Cutthroats won Game 1 in the series before watching the Americans win four straight games to take the Cup. The clinching game was a 5-2 Allen win in Game 5 where the Americans scored four times in the second period to gain an insurmountable lead.

The series featured just the third double overtime game in CHL Finals history (Game 2) and it also was just the ninth CHL Finals to have two games decided in overtime of any fashion (Game 2 and Game 4, both wins by Allen).

In the final game, Kale Kerbashian scored two goals and had an assist and Bryan Pitton stopped 27 of 29 shots in net leading Allen to the Game 5 win.

Allen forward Jamie Schaafsma was named the 2014 CHL Playoff Most Valuable Player after leading his team with 20 points (10-10-20) in the playoffs and leading his team with nine points (6-3=9) in the Finals including the game winning goal in the double overtime thriller in Game 2. Schaafsma, a native of Blenheim, Ontario, scored goals in four of the five games in the Finals and had multiple-goal efforts in Game’s 1 and 2.

Allen Head Coach Steve Martinson wins his second CHL title and his eighth championship overall (five with San Diego of the WCHL, one with Rockford of the UHL and two with Allen).

The Americans join the Wichita Thunder (1994, 1995) and the Memphis RiverKings (2002, 2003) as the only other CHL clubs to win back-to-back titles and did so by defeating the Brampton Beast in five games in the Opening Round and then earning their way to the Finals with a seven game series win over the Quad City Mallards, a series they trailed 3-2 at one point before winning Game’s 6 and 7. Allen finished third in the standings during the regular season with a 39-22-5 record (83 points).


About the Allen Americans

The Allen Americans are an ice hockey team in the minor-league Central Hockey League, which was created in 1963. The Americans were formed and played their first season in the CHL in 2009-10. They are the current CHL league champions, having won the Ray Miron Presidents' Cup in 2013 and 2014. For ticket information, visit or call 972-912-1000.