Spearheaded by the efforts of highly effective school leaders, 26 middle level and high schools recognized by the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) as Breakthrough Schools from 2011-14 have been re-designated for 2017.

Among them is Scott Johnson Middle School, which earned its Breakthrough School designation in 2013. NASSP recently evaluated its Breakthrough Schools and determined that they have sustained their student achievement rates since their initial recognition.

“I am so proud of our students and staff. Being re-designated as an NASSP Breakthrough School is an incredible honor,” said SJMS Principal Mitch Curry. “The award demonstrates MISD and Scott Morgan Johnson Middle School’s commitment to all kids. Although many of our students face a variety of challenges outside of the classroom, our teachers meet each student where they are, both academically and emotionally. Using a continuous improvement model, our staff show empathy and use a laser-like focus on student growth and academic gap closure. I couldn’t be happier to work alongside such educational rock stars. Scott Morgan Johnson is truly an educational family.”

These re-designated Breakthrough Schools are recognized for their continued demonstration of implementing strategies related to three core areas of NASSP’s Breaking Ranks II, a comprehensive framework for school improvement. These include collaborative leadership, personalization and performance growth and reduced achievement gaps on state assessments over time.

To salute these schools, each will receive a plaque and banner to showcase their accomplishments. In addition, four of the schools’ principals—including SJMS Principal Mitch Curry—were selected to attend this year’s National Principals Conference (July 9-11) and another six were chosen to participate in the McKinsey Management Program for School Leaders (an online executive leadership program for school leaders exclusively designed for NASSP).

“Each of these remarkable schools has a principal who synchronizes all the small improvements throughout the school to build toward a large improvement to ensure student success," stated NASSP Executive Director JoAnn Bartoletti. "We are honored to recognize these schools as maintaining and continuing their school improvement measures, to the benefit of staff, teachers, and students alike.”

More information about the individual re-designated Breakthrough Schools can found at www.nassp.org/BTS. The full list of schools is as follows:

Alice Ott Middle School, Portland, OR
James Johnston, Principal

B.F. Terry High School, Rosenberg, TX<
Andree Osagie, Principal

Bloomfield High School, Bloomfield, NJ
Chris Jennings, Principal

Christel House Academy, Indianapolis, IN
Colin Butler, Secondary Principal

Clarke Central High School, Athens, GA
Marie Yuran, Principal

Fossil Ridge Intermediate School, St. George, UT
Jonathan Howell, Principal

Hastings Middle School, Hastings, NE
David Essink, Principal

Lafayette Academy Charter School, New Orleans, LA
Monica Boudouin, Head of School

Lesher Middle School, Ft. Collins, CO
Tom Dodd, Principal

Maplewood Richmond Heights High School, St. Louis, MO
Kevin Grawer, Principal

Marshall Fundamental Secondary School, Pasadena, CA
Mark Anderson, Principal

Native American Community Academy, Albuquerque, NM
Kara Bobroff, Executive Director

Norview High School, Norfolk, VA
Marjorie Stealey, Principal

Oberlin High School, Oberlin, OH
William Baylis II, Principal

Oscar Smith Middle School, Chesapeake, VA
Judith Thurston, Principal

Pierce County High School, Blackshear, GA
Dara Bennett, Principal

San Ysidro High School, San Diego, CA
Hector Espinoza, Principal

Scott Morgan Johnson Middle School, McKinney, TX
Mitchell Curry, Principal

Sleepy Hollow High School, Sleepy Hollow, NY
Tracy Smith, Principal

Southmoreland Middle School, Scottdale, PA
Vincent Mascia, Principal

The Preuss School UCSD, La Jolla, CA
Scott Barton, Principal

Trenton High School, Trenton, MO
Ron Franklin, Principal

Wade Hampton High School, Greenville, SC
Eric Williams, Principal

William Smith High School, Aurora, CO
David Roll, Principal

Woodbridge Middle School, Woodbridge, VA
Angela Owens, Principal

Worcester Technical High School, Worcester, MA
Kyle Brenner, Principal

More information can be found on NASSP’s website at www.nassp.org/BTS.

About the Breakthrough Schools program

Established in 2007, NASSP’s Breakthrough Schools program recognizes middle level and high schools that serve large numbers of students in poverty and are high achieving or demonstrate dramatically improving student achievement. Schools are selected based on documented success in implementing strategies aligned with the three core areas of Breaking Ranks II, including collaborative leadership; personalization; and curriculum, instruction, and assessment.

For more information on the Breakthrough Schools program, please visit www.nassp.org/BTS


The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) is the leading organization of and voice for principals and other school leaders across the United States. NASSP seeks to transform education through school leadership, recognizing that the fulfillment of each student’s potential relies on great leaders in every school committed to the success of each student. Reflecting its long-standing commitment to student leadership development, NASSP administers the National Honor Society, National Junior Honor Society, National Elementary Honor Society, and National Association of Student Councils.

For additional information on McKinney ISD, contact Shane Mauldin, MISD Communications Coordinator, at 469-302-4007 or smauldin@mckinneyisd.net.