On Sept. 24, United States Congressman Van Taylor (TX-03) announced the names of 45 participants in his 2019–2020 Congressional Youth Advisory Council program. Four McKinney ISD high school students were among those chosen to serve on the council. 

Each year, the Congressional Youth Advisory Council (CYAC) offers students a unique opportunity to learn about the federal government, discuss public policy and local Collin County issues and interact with their federal representative and congressional staff while serving their community.

George Colandrea (Junior, McKinney Boyd High School), Hayden Hutzler (Junior, McKinney High School), Caroline Joyce (Freshman, McKinney High School) and Katherine Nelson-Ortiz (Junior, McKinney High School) were each chosen by an independent selection board comprised of educators and community leaders. In making their selections, the board considered applicants’ leadership skills, academic performance, extra-curricular participation and community service. 

On Saturday, Sept. 21, in Plano, the council held its first of six meetings that will take place throughout the school year. "It’s no secret Collin County is home to some of the brightest and most involved students in the nation,” said Taylor afterward, “however, after our first meeting, I was even more impressed with the depth of knowledge, dedication to community, and excitement towards learning displayed by these students." He continued, "I could not be more excited to kick off the CYAC, and I look forward to watching these students grow in their understanding of how government functions.”

Source: Office of Van Taylor

For additional information on McKinney ISD, contact Shane Mauldin, MISD Communications Coordinator, at 469-302-4007 or smauldin@mckinneyisd.net.