Collin College swore in three new police officers and one lieutenant, and promoted one sergeant to lieutenant during a ceremony in March. The greater police presence is just one way the college is promoting a safer environment for students, staff and faculty.

Officer Janice Vanover started at the college in February. Officer Eric Hawkins began in March. Officer Tracey De Rose started last June. Lieutenant Bobby McCoy is a long-time Collin College police officer who was promoted from sergeant. And Lieutenant Daniel “Scott” Jenkins was hired in March after his retirement from the Denton Police Department.

The officers took an oath of office at the ceremony, which doubled as a recognition of promotion. The ceremony was held in the Collin College Boardroom and was celebrated by the officers’ families, as well as other college well-wishers.

Increased law enforcement presence on its campuses is one of the first steps in a multi-year comprehensive safety plan for the district. Collin College will continue to roll out campus safety improvements in the coming years, including new staff, an improved communications infrastructure, better surveillance capability and classroom signage for better locational awareness in case of an emergency. The college will update the public as many of these changes are implemented.

 Collin College serves more than 53,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degrees and certificates in a wide range of disciplines. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development. In addition, the college operates the Collin Higher Education Center, which serves 3,200 additional students each year in partnership with The University of Texas at Dallas, Texas Woman’s University, Texas A&M Commerce, Texas Tech and the University of North Texas.

Photo by Jennifer McDermott, Collin College

Collin College Police Chief Bill Taylor swears in officers and lieutenants in a March ceremony. (From left): Eric Hawkins, Janice Vanover, Tracey De Rose, Daniel “Scott” Jenkins and Bobby McCoy.