McKINNEY (Sept. 17, 2014) — Over 200 people turned out on Thursday evening, Sept. 11 at Heritage Springs Event Center in Anna to salute local volunteers and the nonprofits they serve. The evening began with a barbecue dinner followed by music provided by Brittnee Lee. Mayor Brian Loughmiller spoke and served as “barkeep”, serving Root Beer, Sarsaparilla, and McKinney Sunrise mocktails to all who attended. Local business and community leaders presented the awards in eight categories and State Representative Scott Sanford congratulated the nominees and spoke about the importance of giving back to our communities and supporting the nonprofits who serve those in need.

The Pete & Nancy Huff Community Service Award was presented by Patrick Cloutier, Volunteer McKinney Board President, to a person who demonstrates a long-standing commitment to this community through volunteerism, board service and/or leadership of local organizations or groups. Nominees were Tammy Grimmett, Patty Marking, Derek Robinson, Stephanie South, Dr. J. David Thompson, and the winner was Mollie McCune.

The Heart Award was presented by Dana Riley, Executive Director of Volunteer McKinney, to an individual or group who has provided significant volunteer service to one agency or organization and has made a significant impact on the agency and/or the clients they serve. The nominees were Marilyn Coleman, Ronda Murray, Larry Pietenpol, Ellie Ziegler, and the winner was Neal Bert.

The Kim Hoffman-Volunteer of the Year Award was presented by Robb Temple, Executive Vice President of Independent Bank. This award is named after Kim Hoffman, a tireless McKinney volunteer who led by example and was truly committed to serving others. The Kim Hoffman-Volunteer of the Year Award nominees were Toni Bell, Rich Kurz, Randy Robnett, Michael Rushing, and the winner was Jim Williamson.

The Nonprofit Leadership Award was presented by Dana Riley to a paid staff member within a McKinney-area nonprofit who has demonstrated leadership, commitment and vision in their organization and/or in collaboration with other organizations for the common good. The nominees were Deb Fitzgerald with Leadership McKinney and McKinney Chamber of Commerce, Cindy Johnson with Chestnut Square Historical Village, Tony Sowell with NCC Habitat for Humanity, Lindsey Waddell with Embrace Texas, and the winner was Tricia Nelson with ManeGait Therapeutic Horsemanship.



The Volunteer Group Award was presented by Peggy Smolen, Publisher of McKinney Magazine, to a group of volunteers who have joined together in service to others, contributing to a local nonprofit, cause or organization to impact the lives of others. The nominees were Christ Fellowship Church, CityChurch McKinney, Community Health Clinic Translators, Kodiaks in Action, McKinney Citizens Fire Academy Alumni, National Charity League – Sunflower Chapter, Turning Point Advocates, and the winner was the Kiwanis Club of McKinney.

The "Spirit of McKinney’ Business Service Award was presented by Michael Puhl, Board Member of the McKinney Community Development Corporation to a McKinney-area business for its demonstration of community support through volunteerism and/or financial support of local nonprofits including employee engagement programs and sponsorships of community events. Nominees were Allegiance Title – McKinney Branch, Atrium Fine Homes, Emerson Process Management, Ink & Toner Texas, Kodiak Cross Fit, and the winner was Market Street.

The Youth Volunteer Award was presented by Roslyn Miller, Executive Director of McKinney Housing Authority to a volunteer younger than the age of 21 or a group of volunteers younger than 21 who have demonstrated leadership and/or a commitment to serving others within the McKinney area. The nominees were the Alliance of Elite Youth Leadership, Elders of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, and the winner was Melina Corriveau, a student at McKinney North High School.

The Inspired to Serve Award was presented by Catherine Nicolosi, Graduate Intern with Volunteer McKinney to a public or private school, home school group or other group that endeavors to teach and demonstrate serving others to its students through curriculum, programs and community service initiatives. The nominees were McKinney Christian Academy and the winner was McKinney Boyd High School AVID program.

Sponsors of the event were the City of McKinney, Independent Bank, Market Street – McKinney, First United Bank, Encore Wire and Nelson Travel. Our In-Kind Donors were Heritage Springs Event Center, Franklin Flowers, TomK Photography, TapSnap, Sam A Martin Designs, TriCity Graphics, and Emporium Pies.

The event also featured a silent auction with items provided by Bark! Hotel for Dogs, Branded Floors, Brothers Pizza, Buffalo Creek Cowgirls, Carpet Tech, Consolidated Rig Works, Dancer Strong Academy, El Monte RV, Eldorado Country Club, Fair and Square Imports, The Guitar Sanctuary, Ink & Toner Texas, Jennifer McLaughlin, Klas Products, Law Office of Brook A. Fulks, PLLC, Linda Edgar Full Service Haircare, Longview Gastroenterology Clinic, Lori Fangio, Love Life, Massage Heights, McKinney Convention and Visitor’s Store, McKinney Wine Merchant, My Diamond Shoppe, Patina Green, Patrick and Vonda Cloutier, Phil Wheat, Pie Five, Rick’s Chophouse, Sleepy Hollow Hideaway B&B, Texas Roadhouse, Vision Automotive, and Wagon Wheel Farm.

“We are humbled to be given the opportunity to host this event each year. The spirit of volunteerism and service that is alive and well in McKinney is something we all need to celebrate.” Dana Riley, Executive Director, Volunteer McKinney.


About Volunteer McKinney

Since 1998, Volunteer McKinney has connected volunteers to local nonprofit organizations and has provided assistance to organizations. Volunteer McKinney has also served the community through events such as the National "Make a Difference Day" and Community Volunteer Recognition Events. Connecting people to their passion through volunteerism and strengthening McKinney area nonprofits through training and collaboration. For more information visit