In celebration of Women’s History Month, the League of Women Voters of Collin County honored six outstanding women leaders in emergency response from Collin County cities at a luncheon on Saturday, March 18, 2017. 

The honorees shown left to right in the photo are:  Christa Weisinger, Allen Police and Student Resource Officer; Ursula Watson, McKinney Detective; Susan Carr, Plano Director of Public Safety Communications; Marty Nevil, Prosper Firefighter Medic; Leslie Girdner, Frisco Community Education Coordinator, and Katy Willoughby, Wylie Fire Department Captain.

Several of the honorees were the first female hired in their respective departments. They said that female officers are often able to play a more nurturing and comforting role than male officers when a victim is female. In addition to being first responders, they help educate the community, and especially children, in how to prevent or cope with emergency situations.

Todd Eubanks, Director of the Law Enforcement Academy of Collin College, stressed the need for more women in public safety careers, noting that in 1970 only 2% of public safety personnel were women and that has increased only to 12% today. Collin College offers training in police, fire, paramedic and other areas of public safety.

For more information about the luncheon and the honorees, including a slide show of photos, visit

The League of Women Voters (LWV) is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government.  It influences public policy through education and advocacy.  LWV never supports or oppose any political party or candidate.