Dedicated community volunteers and nonprofit leaders will be recognized at the Spirit of McKinney–A Salute to Volunteers event on Saturday, March 23 at 6:30 p.m. at the Collin County Regional Airport in McKinney.

The event includes dinner, a “live” radio show with Johnny B from KLAK, swing dancing by the SMU ballroom dance team, awards and fabulous door prizes along with vintage automobiles and antiques, all in the 1940’s style!

Local dignitaries will serve as “soda jerks” and will serve ice cream to all attendees. Tickets are $30 and can be purchased via check or credit card at

“Volunteer McKinney is honored to bring this event to McKinney each year, said Dana Riley, Executive Director. “There are so many wonderful volunteers in this area and it will be a great evening of celebration of the volunteer spirit that is alive and well in McKinney.” 

Nominees include:

Kim Hoffman-Volunteer of the Year Award: Presented to one adult who exemplifies the true spirit of Volunteerism through volunteering with numerous organizations in or around McKinney and demonstrates a passion for identifying and meeting this community’s needs.

Edna Brown

Pam Hatch

Ron Morrill

Linda Richardson

Ivonne Rodriquez


Pete & Nancy Huff Community Service Award: Presented to a person(s) who demonstrates a long-standing commitment to this community through volunteerism, board service and/or leadership of local organizations or groups.

Larry Pietenpol

Darla Theis

Alonzo Tutson

George Webb

Inspired To Serve Award: Presented to a public or private school, home school group or other group that endeavors to teach and demonstrate serving others to its students through curriculum, programs and community service initiatives.

DV8-FBC McKinney

Imagine International Academy of North Texas

McKinney North High School Student Council

Young Men's Service League – Frisco

Nonprofit Leadership Award: Presented to a paid staff member within a McKinney-area nonprofit organization who has demonstrated leadership, commitment and vision within their organization and/or in collaboration with other organizations for the common good.

Celeste H. Cox – NCC Habitat

Kareem Evans – McKinney Boys and Girls Club

Jaymie Pedigo – Community Lifeline Center

Youth Volunteer Award: Presented to a volunteer under the age of 21 or a group of volunteers under the age of 21 who have demonstrated leadership and/or a commitment to serving others within the McKinney area.

Sierra Francis

Kirsten Snow

Drew Umberger


Spirit of McKinney–Business Service Award: Presented to a McKinney area business for their demonstration of community support through volunteerism and/or financial support of local nonprofits including employee engagement programs and sponsorships of community events.

College Hunks Hauling Junk and Moving of North Dallas

McKinney Community Development Corporation

Rick Wells & Rick's Chophouse

Volunteer Group Award: Presented to a group of volunteers who have joined together in service to others, contributing to a local nonprofit, cause or organization to impact the lives of others.

Convergint Technologies

DV8-FBC McKinney

Wolford Elementary PTA Volunteers

The Heart Award: Presented to an individual or group who has provided significant volunteer service to one agency or organization and has made a significant impact on the agency and/or the clients they serve.

Misty Al-Tirhi

David "Sparky" Cox

Sharon Hagen

Joan McLean

Teresa Price

Lori Salerno

Sharon Weter

Merina White