PLANO — The Junior League of Collin County (JLCC) completed its 2013-2014 year by making two special grants, achieving a milestone, honoring volunteers and welcoming in new leadership. In 2013-14 the Junior League of Collin County contributed 38,831 volunteer hours and raised $429,012 impacting more than 150 nonprofit agencies in Collin County.

The JLCC executive board voted to donate two additional grants due to the overwhelming fundraising success. Children’s Medical Center at Legacy received $10,000 designated for their reading program and The Samaritan Inn received $30,000 for a resource library in the new state-of-the-art homeless facility. In addition to the grants, JLCC was able to achieve a milestone in its history becoming debt-free by paying off the mortgage of headquarters.

“This has been a tremendous year for the Junior League of Collin County. More than 900 women strong contributed $429,012 and AAA hours impacting more than 150 nonprofit agencies in Collin County,” stated President of the JLCC, Marina De La Garza. “It was an honor to serve as President among this dynamic and committed group of community leaders. As I pass the baton to Angie Sifferman, I am grateful for our ability to grant two additional gifts to Children’s Medical Center and The Samaritan Inn,” continued De La Garza.

“Whether through monetary support or gifts of volunteer hours, the 900 women who comprise the Junior League of Collin County impact the lives of children cared for at Children’s Medical Center at Legacy each day through their generosity,” stated Kern Wildenthal, M.D., Ph.D., President of Children’s Medical Center Foundation and president emeritus of UT Southwestern Medical Center.

“The Samaritan Inn has been proud to partner with the Junior League of Collin County for many years. This partnership has definitely enhanced the lives of people experiencing homelessness in our county and greatly assisted them on their way to regaining their independence. Today’s gift will be used for our new state of the art, family homeless shelter. Families are the fastest growing number in the homeless population and our new facility will provide the space and resources we need to assist as many families as possible. We hope to break ground this year and open in 2015. The Junior League of Collin County truly makes a difference,” stated Lynne Sipiora, Executive Director of The Samaritan Inn.

During the final JLCC general membership meeting, several members were honored for leadership and volunteerism as follows:

Provisional of the Year: Lauren Winton

Active of the Year: Robin Bellerby

Sustainer of the Year: Lancia Herzog

Outreach and community impact projects included the Collin County Council on Family Violence, Done in a Day projects, Kids in the Kitchen, Literacy Leaders, ManeGait, CityHouse, Juvenile Mentoring Program (JUMP), JLCC Cares, Excellence in Service Awards and JLCC Junior Volunteers. The annual JLCC fundraisers include American Girl Fashion Show, ‘Neath the Wreath, Lone Star Stomp and Trinkets to Treasures Resale.

The incoming 2014-2015 JLCC President, Angie Sifferman welcomed the new leadership team with the theme: The Fire of Commitment. Ignite the Spark. Tend the Flame. She is ready for the challenge of leading the area’s largest volunteer group, “The Junior League of Collin County leadership team is preparing for the beginning of a new programming year which promises significant community impact and support, strong community partnerships, and unprecedented training and development for the women of the Junior League of Collin County,” stated Sifferman.


As of June 1, the following Collin County women will assume their new JLCC leadership roles:

Executive Committee 2014-2015

President: Angie Sifferman

President-Elect: Jennifer Tinsman

Community Projects Vice President: Shannon Kmak

Secretary: Lori Sidler

Treasurer: April Tate

Placement Director: Amanda Konersmann

Board of Directors 2014-2015

Communications Management Council Vice President: Angel Hawks

Membership Council Vice President: Jana Oskoui

Planning Council Vice President: Sara Shinneman

Ways & Means Council Vice President: Maria Moffatt

Director of Governance & Policy: Robin Bellerby

Finance Council Vice President: Elizabeth Johnson

Nominating Director: Susan Sutherland

Executive Assistant: Julie DeHan

Sustaining Advisor to Board: Rebecca Egelston Caso

Board of Directors 2015-2016

Treasurer-Elect: Chris Krupa Downs

Placement Director-Elect: Amy Clendening-Wheeler

Communications Management Council VP-Elect: Erica Ellis

Ways & Means Council VP-Elect: Katy Autry


About the Junior League of Collin County

The Junior League of Collin County is an organization of women committed to promoting volunteerism, developing the potential of women, and improving the community through the effective action and leadership of trained volunteers. Its purpose is exclusively educational and charitable. The Junior League of Collin County began in May 1976, as the Plano Service League, and was admitted to the Association of Junior Leagues International in February of 1984, becoming the 255th League to join. Today, membership includes over 900 women from cities in Collin County, including Plano, Allen, Frisco and McKinney who value Service, Respect, and Leadership. For more information about the Junior League of Collin County please visit