PLANO (April 29, 2015) — Former Collin College President Cary A. Israel was honored with the Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award at Phi Theta Kappa’s 97th Annual Convention, held Friday, April 17 in San Antonio.

McKinney Online - Dr. Cary A. Israel

Dr. Cary A. Israel


The award is given to retiring college presidents, campus chief executive officers and state community college directors based on outstanding support provided to Phi Theta Kappa. PTK’s local Alpha Mu Tau Chapter nominated Israel because of his years of encouragement and support of students. Phi Theta Kappa also inducted Israel into the Texas Regional Hall of Honor for Chief Executive Officers during the festivities.

“Dr. Israel’s service to Phi Theta Kappa is just one example of Collin College’s commitment to the students of this community,” Collin College Board of Trustees Chair Mac Hendricks said. “His dedication was obvious to all of those who worked with him.”

According to Alpha Mu Tau Chapter President Jen Dopson, Dr. Israel’s consistent support for the student body was both scholastic and financial.

“Dr. Israel was the kind of president who took a genuine interest in students’ academic and personal development,” said Dopson. She noted that Israel has continued his involvement, even after his official retirement, by remaining in contact with some of the Alpha Mu Tau officer team and inquiring about the success of AMT’s Honors in Action symposium and fall inductions.


About Collin College

Collin College is a community college located in North Texas’ Collin County, the only public college in the county. One of the fastest-growing community colleges or universities in Texas, the college serves nearly 53,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degrees and certificates. With seven campuses throughout the college district, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and workforce development. Collin College has locations in Plano (Spring Creek Campus), McKinney (Central Park Campus) and Frisco (Preston Ridge Campus). In addition, there are satellite centers in Allen, Plano and Rockwall. For more information, visit