The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) named Collin College communication studies professor Ceilidh Charleson-Jennings the 2013 Texas Professor of the Year.  This achievement marks the sixth Carnegie Professor of the Year for Collin College, a feat unmatched by any college or university in the state of Texas.

“We are so proud of Professor Charleson-Jennings for receiving the pinnacle award in teaching,” said Mac Hendricks, chair of the college’s Board of Trustees. “This outstanding professor exemplifies the college’s core values inside and outside of the classroom.” 

The Professor of the Year program, now in its 33rd year, is the only national initiative that focuses solely on excellent undergraduate teaching and mentoring. Professor Charleson-Jennings accepted the award at a Washington D.C. ceremony in the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center. CASE and Carnegie also honored Professor Charleson-Jennings at a Congressional reception at the Folger Shakespeare Library on Capitol Hill.

According to Collin College district president Cary A. Israel, “Professor Charleson-Jennings is an extraordinary professor as well as a New York Times best-selling author, flight instructor and search and rescue expert. For more than 20 years, she has propelled Collin College students toward their dreams. She also forged close-working relationships with industry professionals and provided our students the unique experience of working with nationally renowned producers and editors,” Israel said.

Ceilidh Charleson-Jennings


Israel added, “This award marks back-to-back Texas Professors of the Year for the college, so the college is now home to three Texas and three U.S. Professors of the Year.” Israel stated that Professor Charleson-Jennings and her Collin College colleagues have won more Carnegie Professor of the Year accolades than Cornell, Northwestern, Vanderbilt, Johns Hopkins, Georgetown, Rice, Texas Christian University and the University of Texas at Austin.

“Collin College’s Professors of the Year teach diverse disciplines including communication, physics, sociology, mathematics, psychology and theatre. These coveted awards reflect the broad spectrum of academic excellence that students can expect at Collin College.”

  • 2013: Texas Professor of the Year Ceilidh Charleson-Jennings (communication studies)
  • 2012: Texas Professor of the Year Dr. Greg Sherman (physics)
  • 2009: U.S. Professor of the Year Dr. Tracey McKenzie (sociology)
  • 2007: U.S. Professor of the Year Dr. Rosemary Karr (math)
  • 2006: Texas Professor of the Year Jennifer O’Loughlin-Brooks, (psychology)
  • 2000: U.S. Professor of the Year Brad Baker (theater)

Professor Charleson-Jennings said that she is very honored to have been recognized nationally for a job she loves. She added that it is a privilege to be one of the six Collin College professors who have been named Carnegie Professors of the Year.

“Teaching is something you continuously aspire to. There is something magical about watching students write something honest and brave and deliver it well. It is the best job in the world. Why would I do anything else?” said Professor Charleson-Jennings.

To learn more about Collin College’s six Carnegie Professors of the Year, view the video at


About Collin College

Collin College serves about 53,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development. For more information visit