PLANO (Feb. 9, 2015) — The Collin College Board of Trustees has released the names of finalists for the district presidency.

McKinney Online - Dr. Neil Matkin   McKinney Online - Dr. Richard Shrubb

Dr. Neil Matkin


Dr. Richard Shrubb

They are Dr. Neil Matkin, executive vice president of the Louisiana Community and Technical College System and Dr. Richard “Ric” Shrubb, former president of Minnesota West Community and Technical College.

Collin College conducted a nationwide search following District President Cary A. Israel giving notice of his resignation. Forty individuals applied, and the board identified seven candidates for initial interviews with the trustees in January.

The two finalists will return to the college for second interviews with the Board of Trustees and for introductory meetings with the college community next week. The campus meetings will take place at the conference centers at the Spring Creek Campus in Plano, Central Park Campus in McKinney and Preston Ridge Campus in Frisco. For details on the search, visit

Following campus interviews, feedback on the finalists will be considered during the board’s deliberations, with a final decision anticipated in February or March.


About Collin College

Collin College is a community college in North Texas’ Collin County. One of the fastest-growing community colleges or universities in Texas, the college serves nearly 52,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degrees and certificates. With seven campuses throughout the college district, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and workforce development. Collin College has locations in Plano (Spring Creek Campus), McKinney (Central Park Campus) and Frisco (Preston Ridge Campus). In addition, there are satellite centers in Plano, Allen and Rockwall. For more information, visit