PLANO (June 23, 2015) — In recognition of his conservative leadership during the recent legislative session, State Senator Van Taylor received an A+ grade from Texans for Fiscal Responsibility, one of the state's leading conservative watchdog groups. In addition to his 100 rating, the highest given to any Texas senator for the 2015 session, Senator Taylor earned Texans for Fiscal Responsibility's distinction of serving as a "Taxpayer Champion.”

Texas State Senator Van Taylor

Van Taylor


Taylor is the state senator for District 8, which covers McKinney and Collin County.

“Texans for Fiscal Responsibility is a well-respected conservative voice for limited government and personal liberty. It is an honor to be named one of their Taxpayer Champions and earning their highest rating in the Texas Senate,” said Taylor. “These awards reflect the promise I made to the people of Collin and Dallas counties when they trusted me with their vote. So long as I have the honor to serve the people of Texas, I will continue fighting to secure our border, cut wasteful spending, lower taxes, and reduce government intrusion that strangles job creation and threatens personal liberty.”

The President of Texans for Fiscal Responsibly, Michael Quinn Sullivan, said of Senator Taylor’s efforts, “When it came to defending liberty and advancing pro-taxpayer reforms in the 2015 legislative session, State Sen. Van Taylor stood out in the Texas Senate. Once again, Van Taylor proved himself to be a taxpayer champion working tirelessly for the best interest of the people of Texas.”

Senator Taylor has earned an A rating from Texans for Fiscal Responsibility, and been named a “Taxpayer Champion,” in every term he served in Texas Legislature.

Texans for Fiscal Responsibility is a non-profit entity that supports strong fiscal stewardship within all levels of Texas government. Among their missions is to ensure the greatest amounts of economic and personal liberty, and promote public policies that provide individuals with the freedom to use their strengths and talents in pursuit of greater opportunities. Each session, Texans for Fiscal Responsibly awards their legislative rankings based on their Fiscal Responsibility Index, which measures how lawmakers perform on votes regarding the size and role of government issues. Texans for Fiscal Responsibility uses exemplar votes on core budget and free enterprise issues that demonstrate legislator’s governing philosophy.

A seventh generation Texan, local small businessman, and decorated Marine Officer, Van Taylor serves the majority of Collin County and a portion of Dallas County in the Texas Senate where he is widely recognized as a conservative leader. Taylor serves as Vice-Chairman of the Nominations Committee and also as a member of the Education, Health and Human Services, and Transportation Committees. Van and his wife, Anne, married after his return from Iraq and are the proud parents of three young girls. Van and his family reside in Plano near the land his great-grandfather farmed during the Great Depression.


About the Texas Senate

There are currently 31 senators in the 2015 Texas Senate, part of the 84th Legislature. The Texas Legislature is currently in session (2015) and is in session every other year. After this year, the next legislative session will be in 2017, unless a special session is called by the governor of Texas, Greg Abbott. For more information about the Texas State Senate, visit