The Mayor’s race for the City of McKinney is now down to one active candidate.

Derrick Johnson, a McKinney resident and pastor at the Independent Baptist Church in Como, has withdrawn from the race, leaving the current Mayor, Brian Loughmiller, as the lone candidate.

According to a story in The Dallas Morning News, Johnson had an informal meeting with Loughmiller and found the two men agreed on several city issues. Johnson said he decided to withdraw and will look to serve on non-elected boards. Click here to read the complete story.

However, Johnson missed the cutoff date to be removed from the ballot, so the mayoral race is still technically contested, and his name will appear on the ballot.

Election Day is Saturday, May 11 for all local elections.

The McKinney Chamber of Commerce is hosting a Candidate Forum on Tuesday, April 9 at Eldorado Country Club. Click here for more information and to register.

Three candidates are seeking the at-large seat currently held by David Brooks, who did not to seek another term. Those candidates are Jeremiah Hammer, Randy Pogue and Martin Sanchez.

Two other seats on the City Council are uncontested as only the incumbents filed for reelection: Don Day in District 1 and Travis Ussery in District 3.

The Collin College Board of Trustees has a contested race for Place 4. Sam Roach is not seeking reelection, but Buddy Minett of Frisco, Jim Orr of Lucas and Adrian Rodriguez of Plano are all running for the position. Two candidates have filed to run for Place 9: Andy Hardin of Frisco and Richard Anderson of Plano. Hardin has held that position since being appointed in July 2012. Running unopposed are incumbents Stacy Arias (Place 5) and Mac Hendricks (Place 6).

None of the four places up for election with MISD are contested as incumbents Maria McKinzie (Place 1), Bobby Amick (Place 2), Kathi Livezey (Place 3) and Curtis Rippee (Place 7) are running unopposed. The three remaining seats on the MISD Board of Trustees come up for election in 2015.

In order to participate in the election process, you must be registered in the district in which you live. Deadline to register to vote is Thursday, April 11. Click here for more information on the Collin County website.