The primary election runoff was held on Tuesday, May 27 with several contested positions between the top two vote-getters from the primary election held in early March.

In the race for Attorney General, McKinney’s Ken Paxton beat Dan Branch by a margin of 64 percent to 36 percent. Paxton is currently the Texas State Senator in District 8. Paxton will face Democrat Sam Houston in the general election in November.

In the race for Lieutenant Governor, incumbent David Dewhurst was beaten by Texas Senator Dan Patrick by a margin of 65 percent to 35 percent. Patrick will face Democrat Leticia Van de Putte in the general election this fall.

State House: The only local contested race for state representative was in District 66, where Matt Shaheen beat Glenn Callison, 54 percent to 46 percent. Since the Democrats did not run a candidate for that office, Shaheen won the seat vacated by Van Taylor. Taylor was victorious in the primary election for Paxton’s District 8 Senate seat.

County Commissioner: Republican Susan Fletcher beat Mark Reid in the race for Precinct 1, 52 percent to 48 percent.

U.S. Senate: On the Democratic side, David Alameel beat Kesha Rogers, 77 percent to 23 percent. Alameel will face Republican incumbent John Cornyn in the general election.

U.S. House: In District 4, the top two vote-getters in the primary election for the GOP were incumbent Ralph Hall and challenger John Ratcliffe. Ratcliffe won the runoff, 53 percent to 47 percent, despite trailing Hall after the primary election. Hall has held the seat since first winning in 1980.

The general election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 4.

Click here for complete statewide election results, and click here for complete Collin County election results.