Four newly-elected board members, including a returning board member and one incumbent, were sworn into office at the regular Collin College Board of Trustees meeting on May 21.

Dr. Raj Menon was re-elected to the Place 5 seat and has served on the board since 2016. Menon is a business executive and president of The Menon Group, Inc. He serves on the Collin College Finance & Audit Committee and Collin College Foundation Board. In 2017, Dr. Menon was elected by his fellow trustees to serve as the board’s treasurer.

Jay Saad, newly elected to Place 2, is vice president of sales at Cigna Healthcare for North Texas and Oklahoma. Saad, a Plano resident, has participated on local and state boards for the Texas Association of Business and has also participated in March of Dimes.

Greg Gomel, newly elected to Place 4, is the founder of The Gomel Group and executive director of Agile for Patriots. Gomel’s leadership and board experience includes serving on several Collin College advisory committees, as a Plano Youth Leadership board member, Leadership Plano graduate, Plano ISD Career & Technical Education advisory committee member, NPower Regional advisory board member, Plano Chamber of Commerce member, Institute for Excellence in Corporate Governance member, Plano Kiwanis member, First Baptist Plano member, American Legion Post 178-Frisco member, and Lieutenant Commander in the United States Coast Guard Reserve (retired).

Stacy Anne Arias, newly elected to Place 6, previously held the Place 5 seat on the Board for 12 years. She now lives in Melissa and is the founder and CEO of AriaEd Educational Consulting, LLC. During her time on the board, she served on the Collin College Campus Facilities & Construction Committee and Collin College Budget & Finance Committee, among others. Arias has served on a number of city and nonprofit boards, such as the Celina Economic Development Corporation board and the Texas Council on Family Violence. She currently serves as the president for the Americas Chamber of Business for McKinney, Melissa, and Anna.

“The business, education, and community service experience the new members bring will be invaluable to the board,” said Dr. Robert Collins, chairman of the Board of Trustees.  “We are pleased to welcome the new members, and we look forward to working together to continue toward our goal of making Collin among the outstanding community colleges in the nation.”

Also at the May 21 meeting, officers were elected. Serving two-year terms as board officers are: Dr. Robert Collins, president; Andrew Hardin, vice president; Jim Orr, secretary; and Dr. Raj Menon, treasurer.

Collin College serves more than 55,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degrees and certificates. The only public college based in Collin County, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and workforce development. In addition, the college operates the Collin Higher Education Center, which has an enrollment of 3,500 each year in partnership with The University of Texas at Dallas, Texas Woman’s University, Texas A&M Commerce, Texas Tech and the University of North Texas.


Photo Details

New and returning Collin College trustees are sworn in
Left to right: Dr. Raj Menon, Greg Gomel, Jay Saad and Stacy Arias

Photo by Nick Young, Collin College photographer